Winners of the Foster Prize

The Foster Prize is awarded annually by the Royal Australian Historical Society. Until 2000 it was awarded to the student who gained the highest combined mark in the New South Wales Higher School Certificate examination for 2-unit Modern History and 3-unit Australia since World War II.

Since 2001 it has been awarded to the top HSC student in one of the four Australian options - 'The Origins of the First Australians', 'The Arrival of the British in Australia', 'Women Convicts in NSW', or 'The Bush Legend' - and who has also undertaken an original project in Australian history.

2004 Liam Nevill (Chevalier College, Bowral)

2003 Trieste Corby (Temora High School) and Luisa Tracogna (Mater Maria College, Warriewood)

2002 Lawrence Mendes (The King's School) and Mimi Zou (Sydney Girls' High School)

2001 Amy Fu (Killarney Heights High School) and Kylie Vaughan (John Therry Catholic High School)

2000 Alison Bowie (Meriden School, Strathfield)

1999 Anna Needs (PLC, Croydon)

1998 Alison Barnett (Meriden School, Strathfield)

1997 Jane Mason (PLC, Croydon)

1996 Jacklyn Hartley (McCarthy Catholic Senior College, Tamworth) and Winnie Wing Yee Lui (Meriden School, Strathfield)

1995 Shellie Stewart (PLC, Croydon)

1994 Peter Munro (McCarthy Catholic Senior College, Tamworth)

1993 Caroline Spurway (PLC, Croydon)

1992 Katherine Harvey (Meriden School, Strathfield)

1991 Caroline Chan (McCarthy Catholic Senior College, Tamworth)

1990 Tiffany Knight (Meriden School, Strathfield) and Justine Munsie (St Catherine's School, Waverley)

1989 Simone Hill (McCarthy Catholic Senior College, Tamworth)

1988 Leigh Sanderson (Fort Street High School, Sydney)